Sentinels of Safety Award

The National Mining Association (NMA) is pleased to sponsor the Sentinels of Safety Awards for U.S. mining operations.

Sentinels of Safety are awarded annually to the nation’s safest mines with a minimum of 4,000 injury-free hours.

The awards were initiated in 1925 by then-Commerce Secretary Herbert Hoover and remain the nation’s most prestigious awards recognizing mining safety. For a list of all winners since the award’s inception, click here.

A list of the 2022 winners can be found here.

Questions about the Sentinels of Safety awards can be sent to